top of page

Jay Weinberg's Departure from Slipknot

In a statement on their website, Slipknot have announced that the band has decided to “make a creative decision, and to part ways with Jay”.

Weinberg joined Slipknot in 2014, one year after the bands original drummer, the late Joey Jordison left the band, and has over the past ten years contributed to three albums; 5.: The Gray Chapter, We Are Not Your Kind and The End, So Far.

As of yet, Jay has not released his own statement, but could be seen performing with the band on November 3rd in an Instagram post, on his page (@jayweinberg).

The short statement made by the band can be found here on their website.

The band also stated that Slipknot are intent on evolving, and while thanking Jay for his contributions and the way he has honoured Joey Jordison, they acknowledged that no one could ever replace the style and sound of Jordison.

Weinberg’s departure from the band comes only months after Craig Jones’s, another longtime member of the band, having been a part of Slipknot for 27 years. His replacement has not been officially announced yet, although another musician had been performing in his place over summer.

This leaves the band with Corey Taylor, Shaun ‘Clown’ Crahan, Mick Thomson, Sid Wilson, Jim Root, Alessandro Venturella and Michael Pfaff.

Closing their statement, they added “We wish Jay all the best and are very excited for what the future holds”.


bottom of page